This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

About antivirus

While surfing the net, I happened to see a mention about free AVG antivirus for Linux. Is something like this actually required to be installed with Linux? I am new to Linux and my impression about Linux is that Viruses cannot attack a system operating on Linux. Can someone explain please?

Re: About antivirus

In my experience, I have never needed and anti virus program on my computer. The exception would be, that if you are running a server and clients running MS OS's, you might want to have protection to prevent passing malware to the clients.

Comment

linux.com article

'nuff said...

Please Read Me

Comment

http://linuxmafia.com/~rick/faq/index.php?page=virus
        "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
        – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

I concur with the above adding this:
          If you do a lot email forwarding it would be good practice to scan those mails before sending them on, so as to keep others machines with that "other OS" safe.
          HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
          4 GB Ram
          Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

Originally posted by Fintan
            I concur with the above adding this:
            If you do a lot email forwarding it would be good practice to scan those mails before sending them on, so as to keep others machines with that "other OS" safe.
            That makes a lot of sense to me and I've heard it elsewhere too. However, I would also say that many people don't forward a lot of email. It's quite rare for me and when I do it is almost never including any attachments - which is where the virus would be.

Comment