X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Numlock on at login

Good evening
    I’ve just moved to Kubuntu, I have been using Linux Mint for the past 5 years (i think) so I know a bit of Linux and I really like the KDE desktop so far.

I just have one question, hoping that somebody knows, I can’t believe that such a simple thing is so hard to set for me.
    I’ve spent in fact the whole evening trying to figure out how to enable it, but no joy.

My login has numbers, and it’s easier to type them that way.
    In Linux Mint, after installing numlockx and having it set as on, there was a tick to put in MDM and everything was done.
    I miss a similar last passage in SDDM.

I’ve found only this post searching, but I don’t have the mentioned file.
    https://www.kubuntuforums.net/showthread.php?t=69910

Can anybody help me out please?
    Thanks a lot!

Further questions:
    Why does it need to be off anyway? Anticipating possible answers, laptops don’t work that way, nowadays you have to press Fn to make it work;
    Why if in BIOS numlock is set as ON, linux switches off?
    Last edited by elstellino; May 31, 2017, 05:58 PM. Reason: there was no greeting!

System Settings>Hardware>Input Devices>Numlock on Plasma Startup.
    If you think Education is expensive, try ignorance.

The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has limits.

Comment

Originally posted by SpecialEd View Post
      This setting doesn't affect the login screen (SDDM), it only affects numlock status after login (when Plasma starts).

Originally posted by elstellino View Post
      I’ve found only this post searching, but I don’t have the mentioned file.
      https://www.kubuntuforums.net/showthread.php?t=69910
      /etc/sddm.conf is not automatically created on installation anymore, it's created once you change the defaults in SystemSettings SDDM module.
      You can also create the config file manually with:
      Code:
      sddm --example-config | sudo tee /etc/sddm.conf