This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Timeshift for those of us not using BTRFS

I've been using Timeshift for several months now and restoring snapshots has saved me from many minor and not so minor mistakes glitches. I have been playing with this Acer a bit and I installed the recommended Nvidia driver for the GPU but it has been quirky. While installing a different Nvidia driver this morning my system borked. Booted to a black screen with an unblinking, hyphen cursor. Keyboard was totally unresponsive. Now what do I do? I booted to a live USB, installed Timeshift to the live system, and used it to restore one of my snapshots. I was back in business in about ten minutes. My graphics are still quirky though, mostly mouse artifacts and typing being obscured if the mouse pointer is where the typing is taking place. Also some line "rippling" when scrolling.

(This rippling happened from the get-go, the mouse artifacts first happened after awaking from suspension but today occurred after a reboot).

I still have issues to figure out but Timeshift got me back in after a sticky situation.
    If you think Education is expensive, try ignorance.

The difference between genius and stupidity is genius has limits.

At the login screen try this:
    Ctl+Alt+F2
    Enter name and password
    Enter
    sudo systemctl restart sddm
    Enter password again
    At the fresh login screen enter the password again.

Are the mouse artifacts on the desktop gone?
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

Originally posted by GreyGeek View Post
      At the login screen try this:
      Ctl+Alt+F2
      Enter name and password
      Enter
      sudo systemctl restart sddm
      Enter password again
      At the fresh login screen enter the password again.

Are the mouse artifacts on the desktop gone?