This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HOW TO: SQLite backend for Akonadi

I've been looking for this information a long time and found it somewhere on Google groups. I thought it was worth spreading.
    I've made the change (Kubuntu Oneiric/KDE 4.8.2/akonadi-backend-sqlite 1.7.2-0ubuntu1~ppa2~oneiric1) and have so far not seen any problems.

Would be great if this could be configured in Akonadi Server Configuration. Better even if this could become the standard for Kubuntu in the future.

Techbase says that it isn't recommended, but seeing Gentoo switched to SQLite
    as default back with Akonadi 1.4, that statement is outdated IMO. More
    evidence for this is the fact that Techbase mentions concurrent access
    problems, which should have been resolved in SQLite 3.7 (Write-ahead_Logging
    enabled by default).
    I have been using Akonadi with SQLite as backend for several months now, and
    haven't encountered any issues. On the other hand, I have never compared
    performance with MySQL.

SQLite isn't available in the GUI configuration, so you'll have to set it
    manually in ~/.config/akonadiserverrc. The database driver is QSQLITE3. here is
    my akonadiserverrc :

[%General]
    Driver=QSQLITE3

[QSQLITE3]
    Name=/home/serafean/.local/share/akonadi/akonadi.db

[Debug]
    Tracer=null

The only line you need to change is the Driver line, the rest is filled with
    defaults on first run.

I recommend starting with a clean Akonadi configuration. That means removing :
    ~/.config/akonadi
    ~/.local/share/akonadi
    ~/.kde4/share/config/akonadi*

Your local contacts and mail aren't stored in those directories (unless you so
    explicitly specified in an agent configuration), so local data is safe.
    Akonadi being a cache, removing the database destroys that cache, meaning any
    IMAP/GoogleContacts/Facebook ressource will have to resynchronize with its