X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't Compile Intel 536 driver

hey,

I'm new to kubuntu (2.6.17), and linux, so please bear with me....

I'm having problems compiling the drivers for Intel modem 536EP. I think I have the right files - /Intel-536EP-4.71/

instructions were:
    1. login as ROOT
    2. extract the archive into a directory with "tar -zxvf <archivename>.tgz"
    3. cd into the directory it created.
    4. Type: make clean
    5. Type: make 536
    6. Type: make install

up to step 4-make clean, everything is executing as expected. but "make 536" is failing. output follows:

is there a really obvious step/prerequisite that I've missed?

root@tara-desktop:/home/tara/Desktop/Intel-536-up# make 536
    Module precompile check
    Current running kernel is: 2.6.17-10-generic
    /lib/modules... autoconf.h exists
    diff: /boot/vmlinuz.autoconf.h: No such file or directory
    autoconf.h matches running kernel
    diff: /boot/vmlinuz.version.h: No such file or directory
    version.h matches running kernel
    uname -r|grep "2.6" && \
    cd coredrv && make 536core_26 && \
    cp Intel536.ko .. && cd .. && \
    strip --strip-debug Intel536.ko && \
    exit; \
    ls Intel536.ko >/dev/null 2>&1 || uname -r | grep "2.6" && echo "Failed to build driver" && exit; \
    if [ ]; then \
    cd coredrv; make TARGET=TARGET_SELAH KERNEL_SOURCE_PATH= "PSTN_DEF=-DTARGET_SELAH -DTARGET_LINUX -DLINUX" 536core; \
    else \
    cd coredrv; make TARGET=TARGET_SELAH KERNEL_INCLUDES=/lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/include \
    "PSTN_DEF=-DTARGET_SELAH -DTARGET_LINUX -DLINUX" 536core; \
    fi ; \
    cp Intel536.o .. ; \
    if [ -a /boot/vmlinuz.version.h ]; then \
    cp /boot/vmlinuz.version.h /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/include/linux/version.h;\
    fi
    2.6.17-10-generic
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/tara/Desktop/Intel-536-up/coredrv'
    make -C /lib/modules/2.6.17-10-generic/build SUBDIRS=/home/tara/Desktop/Intel-536-up/coredrv modules