Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I make all files and folders look the same in Dolphin?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Other] How do I make all files and folders look the same in Dolphin?

Issue:
    Viewing my files and folders in Dolphin it looks like hidden files/folders are 'dimmed' compared to normal files/folders. This seems to persist regardless of which theme or color scheme I try, which tells me it's a setting rather than a theme feature.

What I want:
    I would like for all files/folders, normal and hidden to appear the same.

What I'm willing to try:
    I've been using Linux for 20 years, but haven't used KDE since around 2006. I'm comfortable with editing files in the terminal and have no problem working with system files.

What I've tried:
    I've looked through the System Settings to find a way to make hidden files/folders appear with normal lighting instead of dimmed but I didn't see any setting for this.

System:
    Kubuntu 20.04.
    Dolphin 19.12.3

Not sure it is possible, this is a 'feature', and one that goes back at least for the 20 + years I have used KDE.

As far as I can tell so far, this would require editing the source code and rebuilding from that. Not even sure which part(s) would be involved.
    I'd have thought there would be some sort of config file option one could use, but it does not appear so.

Comment

Originally posted by claydoh View Post
      Not sure it is possible, this is a 'feature', and one that goes back at least for the 20 + years I have used KDE.

As far as I can tell so far, this would require editing the source code and rebuilding from that. Not even sure which part(s) would be involved.
      I'd have thought there would be some sort of config file option one could use, but it does not appear so.