X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[CONFIGURATION] Upload and download to non boot drives/partitions errors

Hello,

I'm not a "brand newbie". I've been running dual boot linux and windows for about 8 years now, but I always struggle when something weird happens. I usually give up and reinstall. That won't work this time.

I recently built a new computer and installed Kubuntu 20.04 and Windows 10 to an onboard NVME ssd. I have a second NVME ssd on the motherboard and then 3 more drives attached to the sata ports. One 2.5 inch ssd, and two 3.5 inch spinning drives.

My problem:
    I can access all 5 drives. I can read and write to all 5 drives, but I can't upload or download to any drives except my boot drive on the Linux partition. When I try to download to the second NVME drive, it doesn't show up anywhere even if I try browsing to it through file structure and into the "media" folder.
    The other 3 drives, I get an error "could not read contents" and "error opening drive" and then "permission denied" all in one little pop up window. If I try to upload same issue, same errors. I have to upload and download to the boot drive Linux partition, and then I can copy past from there to any of the other drives/partitions.
    Since have access to all drives to read and write, I can't see this being a user permissions issue but who knows? Maybe I used "sudo" once to often and locked myself partially out of the required permissions to upload and download?? I've never had this issue before.

(By "access" I presume you mean using dolphin, KDE's file manager.) It sounds to me like your extra drives are not mounted at startup or login. Dolphin will mount them if you click on them on its devices panel, but your browser (which I presume is the way you download) is not.