X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] No longer able to start Discover from Application Launcher

Hello
    Another newbie here ; hope this is posted this in the appropriate section.
    Installed Kubuntu 20.04 with KDE 5.18.5 on an Intel NUC8i3BEH
    Everything worked fine.
    Installed more RAM in my NUC
    Now unable to start Discover from Application Launcher.
    Other apps start normally from the Application Launcher.
    What I have tried:
    sudo apt-get install plasma-discover
    That didn't fix it.
    Does anyone know why increasing RAM would cause this problem?
    What do I need to do to fix it, please?

I doubt if increasing the RAM would have anything to do with it. Conceivably the new RAM is flaky, but I'd expect that to give random failures, not a specific one.

You may have struck this bug, supposedly fixed in 2018, but the maintainer has added a comment a week ago mentioning "people seem to keep reporting it".

Starting "plasma-discover" from a konsole might reveal something, but getting a lot of horrible messages is (lamentably) normal. If you can, copy and paste the messages in a post here in tags.

You can use konsole to get updates, to get out of the catch-22 when Discover, the tool to get updates, needs updating. The commands are
    Code:
    sudo apt update
    sudo apt full-upgrade
    However, on 20.04 my last update to plasma-discover was in May, and I presume you've updated since then. Discover is the newbie-friendly software source and updater, but you don't have to use it; many of us in KFN (this forum, kubuntuforums.net is too long) don't. I like muon, but it doesn't do the categories as nicely as Discover.
    Regards, John Little

Comment

Open a terminal and type

Code:
      plasma-discover
      And see what happens

Comment

Many thanks for your reply.
        I've made a note of the code to get updates via the command line.
        Code:
        ron@rdh-NUC8i3BEH:~$ plasma-discover