This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New To Kubuntu - Had A Couple Questions About Configuration

Hi Folks - I'm new to Kubuntu 19.10 (and Linux), I've been running Kubuntu about 2 weeks now and had a couple general configuration questions:

1- is there a way to minimize (chosen) windows to the tray as icons?
    2- is there a way to hide (chosen) tray icons into the "popup arrow" or whatever you'd call it?
    3- is there a way to edit the right-click context menu?

4- mouse properties - I notice there is no way to choose the number of lines the middle scroll button makes. I read somewhere that there is a way to get this functionality back, has anyone been able to do this?

That's about it for now, any advice appreciated

1 - In the upper right corner of an app window are three icons: down arrow, up+down arrow and a white circle with an x in it. The down arrow minimizes an app to the task bar (not the system tray).
    2 - "popup arrow"? Right mouse in a blank area of the system tray and select "system tray settings". In the "General" settings select the entries you want to display. In the "Entries" option set each device to auto, show or hidden, as you desire.
    3 - on the desktop, task bar, system tray, or in an app?
    4 - Settings --> Input Devices --> Mouse --> Advanced --> Mouse wheel scrolls by
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

1) Not that I know of. But choosing "Icons-only Task Manager" by right.clicking the task bar and > Show Alternatives, reduces the amount of space taken by minimised windows a lot.
      It's what I use, and it may be useful to you.

2) As GreyGeek says.

3) As far as I know, you can remove entries from the right-click (on desktop) menu but not add them.
      From the right-click menu itself, Configure Desktop> Mouse Actions.