Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[System] How to open excusable files with wine?

Hi, I'm very new to Kubuntu. But I have little experience withLinux mint and fedora. Yesterday I installed Kubuntu and everything perfectly working. I want to open some windows excusable files. So Iinstalled wine and also PlayOnLinux. But my question is, it not give a right click option to open with wine.
    But other distros have double click directly open with wine, or otherwise right click context menu open with wine. So how to configure a option on Kubuntu .exe open with wine?

I've been using wine on Kubuntu for some seven years and it always had wine as a default application to open .exe (recognised as DOS/Windows executable files).
    Anyway, right-clicking should give you Open with (default choices) or Open With... [select application], and that gives you a choice to set it as default for that extension.

Click image for larger version

Name:	winech.png
Views:	1
Size:	13.0 KB
ID:	644452

Comment

Thanks you. But my wine installation have a problem. because it is not in Right click menu. I tried to, locate and set path to open with as you shown in screenshot. But it is have few categorizes, did't have wine. In windows i can easily locate program and set it. But i am completely new to this, so i have no idea where is wine located in on kubuntu.

I checked in bash - konsole wine --version it give this output wine-4.0.2 (Ubuntu 4.0.2-1)

Comment

I've logged in specifically to respond to this thread. I made the choice, over 15 years ago, to never run files which are Microsoft Windows(r) based. That was done out of a sense of extreme distrust in both that company and their Operating Systems.