This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't Get Kubuntu or any linux to find my Asus USB-AC53

I've looked all over this forum for a problem similar to mine but nothing exact so I was wondering if someone could help?

The HDMI connector was accidentally crammed into the ETH port a couple of years ago on this laptop it broke the pins in the ETH port... Been stuck with wireless only ever since.

I've seen some good help articles on ask ubuntu but all been from the standpoint of doing a wget or some sort of download then installing a file from another wireless with a/c and then changing the parameters to the ASUS AC53 but when you don't have wireless because Kubuntu isn't seeing the wireless and the ETH port is FUBAR'd you have a Catch-22 conundrum

I just downloaded Kubuntu 19.10 and I'm not a total Newb with Kubuntu but I'm not a CLI wiz by any means either, so I'm not even going to bother going from live-usb to full install in dual boot if I can't even get Wireless to work.

I'm getting ready to switch to VPS hosting service again and I'm going to need Linux to do SSH because I hate Windows SSH options with a passion and I can't afford to buy Mac OS (like I'd want to)

Anyone wanna take a stab at helping figure this out? I guess I could download a file in Windows and then save it to the desktop in Kubuntu but I wouldn't know what to do from there and since ASUS doesn't have any ***&&&^^%%%((()))))$$** bleepin drivers for LInux, I wouldn't know what to download anyway.

PS as a reminder I haven't installed Kubuntu 19.10 yet so I can't do any CLI to pull up info on my laptop parameters...

Thank you hopefully in advance