This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Non-used GPU causing login problems?

Total linux noob here. Here's a quick back story. I have a Toshiba S70B laptop with a dedicated gpu (AMD Radeon R9 M265X, 2GB). The only change I've made to the laptop was to swap out the HD for an SSD (500GB). I installed Windows 10 clean install. Several times. Kept running into problems where the system would just lock up (stupid blue screen with the qr code (whatever that thing is)). Eventually realized it was a bad graphics driver. Tried earlier versions, etc. Kept happening.

Clean installs about 7 or 8 times in a two month period. I eventually disabled the discrete gpu through Device Manager. No more issues.

Last week I decided I wanted to try linux to see if I could do all my daily jobs with linux (and Wine when needed). I used a partition program to free up some GBs and created a dual boot laptop. Linux partition has 500 MB Boot/EFI, 4GB swap, 40 GB root and 100 GB home partitions. Installed Kubuntu 19.04 minimal. Updated, used etc. No issues. Then last week an update failed. It gave me this warning (there was other stuff but I think this is the important one).

"W: Possible missing firmware /lib/firmware/amdgpu/vega20_ta.bin for module amdgpu"
    The the login/power failure problem began. I boot up, go to Ubuntu, and sometimes it will just shut down. Most times it will show login screen. I start to type and the system stops. Typing does nothing. Mouse doesn't move. Then about 20 or 30 seconds later, it shuts down. I restart, try again. If I can get the password typed in time, it'll log in and I can use the system. Sometimes this takes 5 or more retries.

So I changed login to automatic for my account. Now it'll start to log in and sometimes it'll freeze up (you'll actually see the screen freeze where the login part is disappearing and the taskbar is being displayed both at the same time, frozen).