No announcement yet.

Is there not an update tutorial?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Installation] Is there not an update tutorial?

As a new Linux user, I'm learning my way around the system so I can dump Microsoft for good. I chose Kubuntu for its features and ease of use (I'm a tech geek but the Darling Bride is technologically declined). I'm running 23.04 right now but I can't find an option, anywhere in the settings, to update the system to 23.10.

Is there not a simple "here's what to do and how to do it, in this order" tutorial for new Kubuntu converts like me? Thanks!

Upgrade notifications aren't always turned on immediately on release day, and it does take time for the vast number of mirrors to fully sync up.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ma...grades/Kubuntu

This is usually linked to from the official announcement, which Kubuntu haven't actually done yet.

This page IS linked to in the Release notes found in the downloads page.

I can't say why someone hasn't posted an announcement on Kubuntu org yet.

Comment

Originally posted by claydoh View Post
      Upgrade notifications aren't always turned on immediately on release day, and it does take time for the vast number of mirrors to fully sync up.

This is usually linked to from the official announcement, which Kubuntu haven't actually done yet.

May I ask, does the 23.10 upgrade work with Nvidia proprietary drivers? Does one have to wait until Nvidia catches up? If so, is there a info source to learn that from? Thank you again for teaching us these things.

Comment

Originally posted by TinyTim View Post
        May I ask, does the 23.10 upgrade work with Nvidia proprietary drivers? Does one have to wait until Nvidia catches up? If so, is there a info source to learn that from? Thank you again for teaching us these things.
        No, nothing needs to be done for Nvidia afaik. That doesn't mean nvida is pain-free, necessarily, and I don't use their GPUs any longer.