X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Launching a terminal if GUI crashes

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Linux and I'm trying to learn how to use it. Once I went asking a question to some Linux wizard about some elementary problem I had and at some point he used a keyboard shortcut and made a terminal appear on the screen. He told me that it was useful when the graphical interface crashes and I agreed. Unfortunately, I didn't write down the short-cut and now the wizard is gone. I tried to find it back later, but I find everywhere that the keyboard shortcut to open a terminal is Ctrl+Alt+t but for me nothing happens when I type these keys.
    I have a Swiss Key-board with ``German (Switzerland)" Layout and ``French (Switzerland)" variant. I guess that it's not so common in the world, but at the same time it's not supposed to be super fancy, in the sense that I didn't do anything very involved to have this as I remember. In Switzerland it's quite common. I think it was installed this way when Kubuntu was installed on my computer.

So my question is: if the graphical interface crashes, how do I open a terminal to try to fix this?

This question is quite important to me since I will try to switch from one GPU to the other (I have two on my computer) and fear that something goes wrong in the middle.

Here is a description of my machine:

Kubuntu release: 16.04
    KDE Plasma Version: 5.5.5
    Qt Version: 5.5.1
    Kernel version: 4.4.0-104-generic
    OS-type 64-bit
    Grub version: Version: 0.97-29ubuntu68
    Other operating system: windows 10
    Laptop: Lenovo T460p
    CPU: 8 x Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz
    GPU: when I type the command recommended in the post mentioned above I obtain:
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Skylake Integrated Graphics (rev 06)
    but according to the website where I bought my computer I'm supposed to have: Nvidia GeForce 940MX + Intel HD 530.
    RAM: 16 GB
    Hard Drives: 512 GB SSD S-ATA