X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[RESOLVED] New 2 KDE -show window on taskbar where it is opened only

Hey,

I am new to KDE Plasma. I like it.
    I am wondering though if there is a way to have a windows taskbar icon follow it when moving between windows?
    I am also wondering if, when opening a window, it opens on the monitor you are opening it on?
    And when you minimize a window, how do I make it so it does not zip from the most extreme left monitor, across the middle one and, minimize on the extreme right one's taskbar?

Weird crap like that happening and I am sure it's me and my config.

Any help would be appreciated :-)

Well - since there is views but no response can I safely assume there IS no way to do what I want done in KDE?

Going back to Mate would not be out of the question.
    Mate DOES do what I want done.

Comment

Originally posted by yodamin View Post
      I am wondering though if there is a way to have a windows taskbar icon follow it when moving between windows?
      Right-click the task manager on an empty space (if there is none because the task manager is full, right-click one of the entries, and click "More"), click "Configure Task Manager", "Behaviour", and after "Show only tasks:", check "From current screen".

I am also wondering if, when opening a window, it opens on the monitor you are opening it on?
      tl;dr it's is complicated, and I don't understand all of it with X11, nor any of it with Wayland. But in case someone is interested:
      • In system settings, window management, window behaviour, advanced, I suggest unchecking "allow apps to remember the positions of their windows", and experiment with the placement setting. The "under mouse" setting is funky, after clicking something in the menu or the panel one gets maybe 100 ms to move the mouse pointer to where you want the resulting window to open.