Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

External Headset Microphone Not Detected In Settings.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] External Headset Microphone Not Detected In Settings.

Hey, I'm new to the whole forum thing so sorry if my organisation is not up to code.

I play quite a few online games on my laptop and the microphone is a valuable utility in many cases. I have a headset with a combined Microphone and Speaker setup, meaning both go through the single universal 3.5mm jack. The audio output has worked flawlessly, headphones sound crisp and work brilliantly, however, I've noticed that in every application and game, the computer does not detect the external microphone, instead using the internal one. This has worked alright, but the sound of the fan can quickly get annoying for teammates, friends, etc... So I'm looking to finally fix this.

Now I searched the forums for other problems like this, but it seems that many of those users have Tower PCs, and know all the components inside, but I really have no idea, but I'm sure there are ways to figure out if it could help with a solution. I appreciate any and all help.

Hello! Welcome to KFN!!

First off, some basic info, please:
    Which Kubuntu version are you using?
    Computer make and model, as specifically as you can

A quick thing to check right off the bat before we get into hardware identification and all that nerdy Linxy stuff:
    In System Settings> Audio, for your headphones, or Line Out, or whatever matches up to your setup, you may need to make sure that it is set to a 'duplex' setting, or one that includes both output and input:.
    Using my USB headphones as an example:
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20221018_095042.png
Views:	202
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	666019
    Notice this has no mic at all with this setting

Now, this is what the dropdown shows:

Name:	Screenshot_20221018_095446.png
Views:	199
Size:	31.6 KB