Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Computer has started freezing frequently - memory or graphics card?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Computer has started freezing frequently - memory or graphics card?

Hi,

About a month ago I started working from home. I am a junior web developer - typically I have VSCode open, am in and out of video calls and have a couple of browsers open with many tabs. It freezes almost every day. Being in a video call and doing a few other things at the same time seems to increase the likelihood.
    Before I go to a shop I'd like to get an idea of what could be causing this.

Kubuntu 20.04
    Operating System: Kubuntu 20.04
    KDE Plasma Version: 5.18.5
    KDE Frameworks Version: 5.68.0
    Qt Version: 5.12.8
    Kernel Version: 5.4.0-90-generic
    OS Type: 64-bit
    Processors: 6 × Intel® Core™ i5-9400F CPU @ 2.90GHz
    Memory: 7.7 GiB of RAM

memtest does not seem to be on my GRUB menu - is it possible that it isn't installed? Pressing 'shift' on starting doesn't do anything, when I press 'ESC' I get a menu with 3 choices - let me know if details of what they are would be helpful.

I'm wondering if the issue could be because of my graphics card? I have a vague memory of their being little driver support for my Nvida GeForce GT 730 when I first installed Kubuntu on it last January.

I only know a little about hardware and Linux (in case you hadn't noticed).

Thank you
    Last edited by zathras; Nov 11, 2021, 05:02 AM.

Originally posted by zathras View Post
    memtest does not seem to be on my GRUB menu - is it possible that it isn't installed?
    The memtest that was on the grub menu in the past was a BIOS programme, and the UEFI version is not free. You can:

1. install memtester
    2. boot from a memtest86+ USB in BIOS compatibility mode
    3. get Linux to do a memory test on startup

I've never successfully managed to do 2 or 3, and I don't know how good 1 is.