X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't install ImageScan! for Epson Perfection V500

hello everyone,

I'm totally new to Kubuntu, which I like very much and would like to use - everything is ok so far, except for the Epson V500 installation files...

On Ubuntu/Mint I'd (sequentially) click to install on iscan-data_1.32.0-1_all.deb + iscan_2.30.0-1~usb0.1.ltdl7_amd64.deb + iscan-plugin-gt-x770_2.1.2-1_amd64.deb (which I downloaded from the Epson site ages ago, though they still work on Ubuntu, etc).

On Kubuntu 16.04, as I click on iscan-plugin-gt-x770_2.1.2-1_amd64.deb, the "install package" of the Package Installer is greyed out (unlike the other two .deb files, which I can install). As a result, I can't launch ImageScan! and use the Epson.

Alternatively, I tried and downloaded the .deb files (64 bit) from http://support.epson.net/linux/en/iscan_c.html (the old Epson page where I got the iscan files above seems to be gone). Here I've got some problems with installing the bundle-1.0.0.x64.deb.tar.gz and specifically (from the little I learnt in Ubuntu - possibly not applicable in Kubuntu?)

$ tar -xvzf bundle-1.0.0.x64.deb.tar.gz
    tar (child): bundle-1.0.0.x64.deb.tar.gz: Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar (child): Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

so I don't get anywhere that way either.

Can you please help? I can't do without the Epson...and (hopefully) it's just a matter of installing
    iscan-plugin-gt-x770_2.1.2-1_amd64.deb...
    Thank you!!!

anyway, here're some info about my system (what I could gather):

- DISTRIB_RELEASE=16.04;
    - sorry "Alt+F2 then type dolphin then click on Help > About KDE" doesn't give any useful info about KDE...(that I can see..);
    - ~$ apt-cache show grub | grep ersion
    Version: 0.97-29ubuntu68
    Description-en_GB: GRand Unified Bootloader (Legacy version);

-
    Asus ZenBook UX301LA
    -
    ~$ lscpu