This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to get blue FN keys to work on Samsung RV510

Hope someone can help. A friends laptop's drive has died and I've installed the latest version of Kubuntu on the laptop. The installation has mainly gone without a hitch and it's just about ready to return to her. Here is my main problem and, yes, I am pretty new to Kubuntu and Linux. The only blue FN keys that work are for volume and turning the mouse-pad off and on but I can't control the brightness or other functions, like enabling and disabling the wireless card, etc....

I've tried my best to find something that might work and found something names samsung-tools, but it's in source code format and as you guessed it, don't know (yet) how to compile the source to binary and install it. That's if samsing-tools is what I need.

So, for a newbie who can follow instructions and knows enough Linux to get to the terminal and get the # root prompt and knows how to use nano, struggles to get rsync to work, etc... Can anyone please give me step-by-step instructions on here on how to enable full keyboard functionality for a Samsung RV510 laptop with Linux 3.13.0-37 generic OS?

At least, to enable the screen brightness to be adjusted from the keyboard.

Linux version 3.13.0-37-generic (buildd@roseapple) (gcc version 4.8.2 (Ubuntu 4.8.2-19ubuntu1) ) #64-Ubuntu SMP Mon Sep 22 21:30:01 UTC 2014 (Ubuntu 3.13.0-37.64-generic 3.13.11.7)
    DMI > SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS CO., LTD. RV410/RV510/S3510/E3510 /RV410/RV510/S3510/E3510 , BIOS 03UC.P026.20101027.LX 10/27/2010
    input > AT Translated Set 2 keyboard as /devices/platform/i8042/serio0/input/input4

Update:

Managed to install samsung-tools
    samsung-backlight did not install.

root@S-RV510:/lib/udev/rules.d# apt-get install samsung-backlight
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Unable to locate package samsung-backlight