Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Too many desktop environments on Kubuntu 13.04 - remove or reinstall OS?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Too many desktop environments on Kubuntu 13.04 - remove or reinstall OS?

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to KDE environment and I just switched to Kubuntu from Ubuntu 13.04.
    However, when I was on ubuntu I installed KDE-plasma-desktop (awesome) but as well cinnamon, lxde, xfce too.
    I did it to know what is what and how it fits to me.
    So, at the moment I have about 6 desktop environments + openbox alone, that's including Unity and Gnome...
    Now I know I shouldn't do that, install them all at the same time lol, but... at least I know what that's mean.

My main question is: Is it better to remove all desktops environments one by one using history log file as describe here: http://complete-concrete-concise.com...eprogram#howto,
    or, move all my files to 2nd HDD and make fresh Kubuntu installation and put my files back to main HDD?

P.S'. if fresh installation is a best way, would someone assure me that by installing kubuntu 13.04 I'll have this plasma desktop with search mode (I love it).
    P.S''. just for the records I have upgraded my kernel to 3.9
    P.S''' finally, my machine is not a demon of speed so for heaver processes and better performance I using LXDE session before I login can I do the same with Kubuntu?

Many thanks for any reply and advice
    Cheers

I running:
    Laptop Toshiba P300-20H
    CPU: intel dual core t3400 2.16Mhz
    arch: x86_64
    GPU: intel, mobile 4 series c
    Ram: 2Gb
    1.Int.HDD: Samsung 250Gb
    2.int.HDD: Hitashi 250Gb
    Ext. HDD: Medion 500Gb Usb 3.0 Fat32

Kubuntu 13.04
    Installed on ubuntu 13.04 by sudo apt-get install KDE-plasma-desktop
    KDE: 4.10.4
    Grub: GRand Unified Bootloader )Legacy Version)
    Kubuntu 13.04 on Laptop Toshiba P300-20H, CPU: T3400 2.16Mhz intel dualcore, RAM: 2Gb, 2xHDD250Gb