This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

multiple screens

I realise this may have been talked about before but I have read other threads on other forums talking about the problem and i tried their fixes which didnt work.

Im completely new to linux and it baffels me in many ways.

Im running kubuntu 10.10 with KDE4
    not a wubi install
    grub version 0.97-29ubuntu60

I have a nvidia graphics card (cant rememebr the model and can find any application that displays all the hardware attached like the windows device manager)

I installed nvidia drivers using system > additional drivers which seems to have worked.
    using the x server manager that it installed im trying to configure it so i can use my second screen - i cant apply the changes because it sais i have to save the config tot he config file.

I cant do that because it is unable to open the file for writing. When i look at the file it sais the owner is root. User has read and write access but group and others only have read - i can change any of teh permitions.

someone in another forum suggested this:
    How I fixed it:

1) open a terminal
    2) sudo mv -i /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
    2) sudo touch /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    3) sudo nvidia-settings
    4) hit "save configuration"

with the empty xorg.conf, nvidia-settings should properly save the file.

When i tried this i got:

How I fixed it:

1) open a terminal
    2) sudo mv -i /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup
    2) sudo touch /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    3) sudo nvidia-settings
    4) hit "save configuration"

with the empty xorg.conf, nvidia-settings should properly save the file.

what do i do?

Re: multiple screens

Code:
    kdesudo nvidia-settings

Comment

yes, that starts the server manager....

Comment

Originally posted by adrianm
        yes, that starts the server manager....
        in Super User mode, which is what you require to save a change to /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

Comment