This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Uncompress .7z file with password [Solved]

I'm feeling like a complete newbie on this. I have a file with a .7z extension. I have the password. I installed p7zip.

I type: p7zip -d file.7z
    or p7zip x file.7z
    or p7zip x file.7z -pMypassword

All I get is "Error: Can not open file as archive." or the help file which reads:
    Code:
      -h print this help
      -d decompress file
    OK, so I try: -d instead of x as suggested in most places, but it still doesn't work. Half an hour of net search and I cannot find a command that works for me, and the suggestions vary considerably. Does anyone know for sure what I should type?

Re: Uncompress .7z file with password

Have you ever tried xarchiver? It's kind of the Swiss army knife of compression utilities. For CLI-impaired folks, like me ....

Comment

Install xarchiver if it isn't already installed. Open Dolphin and navigate to the file. Right click the .7z file and in the menu that comes up, go down to 'extract to.' The xarchiver box should come up with a box for the password, click in that box and enter the pass, then click on 'extract' at the bottom.
      Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
      "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Xarchver sounds like an excellent suggestion. I installed it and also the full 7zip program. What happens is it gives an error like this:

7-Zip (A) 4.57 Copyright (c) 1999-2007 Igor Pavlov 2007-12-06
        p7zip Version 4.57 (locale=en_GB.UTF-8,Utf16=on,HugeFiles=on,1 CPU)

Processing archive: /home/ole/DOS-down/z/pc20.7z

Enter password (will not be echoed) :
        Error: Can not open encrypted archive. Wrong password?
        It does not ask for a password so I don't know what to do. The only place for a password is earlier on in the "Extract files from archive" menu, but that is just a greyed out window so I can't put it in there.