This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Missing Items in Kubuntu Desktop

I installed ubuntu 10.04 recently, and downloaded the KDE desktop to use as an alternate work environment. I had done this previously with 8.04, without any problems. In the new version, I have downloaded plasma-desktop to install KDE, and KDE works fine (mostly) on my system. Two things, however, are missing. First, when I go to the "Leave" screen, I can hibernate, log out, etc., but there is no "shut down" setting available. Does anyone know how I can fix this?

The other thing I am lacking is the icon in the bottom right corner which allows me to connect to a network. I have searched and searched the widgets, but can not the item that should do this job. Again, any suggestions on how to fix this would be welcome.

I am a newbie to this forum, but have used ubuntuforums on occasion before.

Re: Missing Items in Kubuntu Desktop

I installed ubuntu 10.04 recently, and downloaded the KDE desktop to use as an alternate work environment. I had done this previously with 8.04, without any problems. In the new version, I have downloaded plasma-desktop to install KDE,...
    Hmm - you have the Ubuntu 10.04 and you have installed the Kubuntu desktop ?
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop
    Are you using the gdm (Gnome Display Manager) or the kdm (KDE display manager) ?

Try to change to the kdm (this may or may not help):
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm
    If you have the kdm and the gdm installed then you will be asked what do you want to use as a default display manager.

First, when I go to the "Leave" screen, I can hibernate, log out, etc., but there is no "shut down" setting available. Does anyone know how I can fix this?
    This may be the kdm/gdm conflict - a workaround is to install the kshutdown:
    an advanced shut down utility for KDE

It has 4 main commands:
    - Shut Down (logout and halt the system),