This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

a little help for a newbie...

first of all i want to thank the kubuntu developers for bringing such a wonderful and nice os
    i'll cut straight to the chase: i want to switch entirely to kubuntu but first i have some questions to be answered...

1. i'm a windows user and have been for the past 7 years or so...and the normal thing i have to ask is if my primary disk (equivalent to C: - in windows) is full can i install software and/or games on an alternative partition (equivalent of D:, E: etc - on windows)?

2. if there's a windows executable the icon i see is a "gear" and if i make a desktop link to it it has the same icon. so my question is....can kubuntu be configured in such a way that it displays the icons correctly as if they were under windows ?

3. i'm not into gaming alot but the only game i really do play is world of warcraft and i understand that it can be safely run under wine but i have no experience at all with configuring wine

4. i use yahoo! messenger on a daily basis and last time i checked kopete only displays the address of my friends not their full names, and yes the option with displaying their names is enabled (i don't want other alternatives to kopete such as pidgin). is there another setting that i'm forgetting, or even better does the latest version of yahoo! messenger run under wine ?

Re: a little help for a newbie...