X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Package Manager

I'm running 10.04 installed with wubi.

I'm new to Linux and I'm looking for a good way to get new software.

At first I was using the included KPackageKit, but I noticed that I couldn't find a lot of Linux software that I've heard of.

My friend suggested using aptitude, and it works quite well. I also tried Synaptic. Both of these seem to have a nice list of programs (from the ubuntu repository?).

I also tried Adept but the list seems very limited.

What's the best way to get new programs in Kubuntu?

Side note, something caused this problem for me, but I performed the indicated workaround.

Re: Package Manager

All of the aforementioned package managers (Kpackagekit, Aptitude, Synaptic, and Adept) and several that you haven't mentioned (e.g. apt from the command line) will provide access to ALL the packages in ALL the repositories, they know about. Most learn which repos to look at from a file called "/etc/apt/sources.list", and files in the directory /etc/apt/sources.list.d/. In order to keep this process working correctly, you have to periodically (e.g. daily, or, at most, weekly) refresh your package list. In most of the package managers, this can be achieved by clicking on a button called "reload" (or "refresh"). You should do this frequently (daily or weekly) in order to keep your system secure. Pick a package manager (I recommend Synaptic, but you'll have to install it), and learn its quirks, tricks and shortcuts from the experts at this site. In a short while, YOU will be an expert.

Comment

Well since you are new to kubuntu and the infernal Kpackagekit i reccomend just tinkering with it until you get the hang of how it works -.- ( mind you i don't like it 1 bit, upstream effort or not).