X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

QT

hi all.

im very new to the world of linux. im having a bit of trouble with a program called qt creator. all i want to do is compile some c++ programs, but it isnt having it.
    it keeps asking for the qt version. ive followed the instructions on other posts, which told me to install packages such as Libqt4-dev. when i try that the package installer says there is problems with dependent files. i tried it manually. eventually it asked for a file, which i found, but when i went to install it it said that i already have a higher version installed. i dont know what jaunty and karmic means. all i know is i downloaded kubuntu less than 6 months ago, and its fully updated.

to be honest im that frustrated ive practacly given up with qt. i just want to write C++ programs without having to resort to windows.

is there a single file that can be downloaded that will do all this for me without me having to download five million other files from 10 million different pages, or having to sive through a list of stuff that means nothing to me. or is there a list of exactly what i need to start programming in C++?
    cheers.

p.s how do i get rid of all the crap ive put on trying to get qt to work?

Re: QT

i use qt-creator reguarlly, i have never installed it from the repos i get the .bin file from their webpage and install that one.. and play w/ it from there
    Mark Your Solved Issues [SOLVED]
    (top of thread: thread tools)

Comment

Can you tell us how you tried to install qt-creator? Did you get it from a website or did you use a package manager to install it from the repository?

Comment

i did it through the repository i think, i used the package manager.

Comment

The qtcreator you install from the repository will be the framework 1.3.1 version, built using the Qt4 4.6.2 API.

The qtcreator you install from the website will be the 1.3.18 version, built using the Qt4 4.7.2 API.