This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems using Live CD on Dell Laptop

Hi, my son is attempting to use the Kubunt 9.10 live CD on his Dell Inspiron 1100. It's the same live CD that I used on my Laptop so I know it's ok

However, it gets to selecting language OK and then just hangs with a blank screen - endlessly I had trouble getting the CD out as the drive had locked up too In the end I switched the machine off and then waited, switched on and then quickly opened the CD drive and removed the Live CD before it could lock again

On booting up it went to a new screen asking to boot from Windows Xp or Kubuntu ?? Booted OK to XP

anyone have any Ideas? I have searched the forums for the last 2 hours and am no wiser.

any answers please keep it VERY SIMPLE as I'm no computer expert

Thanks in advance
    Paula

Lenovo Thinkpad x230 Core i5vpro, 4G Ram, 320G HDD, Intel HD 4000.
    Running clean install of KUBUNTU 20.04 after years of running Ubuntu 18.04 then a week running Sabayon.
    Running clean install of KUBUNTU 18.04 after a couple of months running ArchLinux Manjaro

Re: Problems using Live CD on Dell Laptop

Its a video problem because the Dell uses an "unusual" video card. The CD looks as though it sticks in the CD-Rom because it does work - it does "mount"- there is only no picture.

Have a look at this post for a fix, particularly the message by skselby - http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=807351
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

when I say the cd stuck in the drive, I couldn't get it out, pressed the eject button but nothing happened The drive seemed to be cycling too

will have a look at the other thread thanks

OK have read the other thread and all of the answers rely on being able to do something with the computer, this isn't possible - it won't DO anything

any ideas?