This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Creating A Virtual Host Station

I'm a Windows tech … I've been “into” Windows from its earliest inception and worked happily with it since Windows 3.1 (never really liked the earlier versions) and, ever since it's release, I've been using Windows 7. I make no excuses for it but I like Windows or at least I did until Windows Vista and Windows 7 is, in many ways, a service pack for Vista inasmuch as it addresses the faults of Vista, solves most of them and makes it a considerably better OS. But here's the thing (for me at least) … Windows 7 is slick, it works, it does all the things it says on the box except interest me (which isn't actually written on the box). For some reason I can't adequately identify I don't like Windows 7 and I'm not entirely sure why … I wonder if it's because it's somehow too smooth, too slick, too glossy and just plain boring.

OTOH I have always kinda liked Linux (my favourite distro is/was OpenSUSE) but I have never been quite able to get my head round the way everything in Linux works together. This has resulted in a something like a 15 year love/hate relationship with Linux my earliest real experience being a 6 month hands-on stint with SuSE 7 Linux and over a decade of downloading and trying out new distros … all that time I've stuck with Windows as my primary OS. In part that's because of my job (I've been supporting various Windows server versions for the past 9 years) , in part because Windows has given me any real problems. Windows 7 has changed that for me.

So, as a primary OS, I've decided I would like it to go and, being into virtualisation and not being “done” with Windows (it's what I know, what I'm good at), I have decided that some kind of virtualisation host is the way to go. What I want is to build a system that will allow me to virtualise my Windows systems and (potentially) other OS's so my basic plan is this: