Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Why don't repositories update Firefox to latest? (3.6.2)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why don't repositories update Firefox to latest? (3.6.2)

Kubuntu 9.10
    I am running FF 3.5.8
    I have not added or removed any repositories - they are all default.

Should I check off Unsupported updates? You would think FF would be supported.

I am new to repositories and how they are updated.

any help appreciated
    KDE neon LTS 5.12

Re: Why don't repositories update Firefox to latest? (3.6.2)

Depends on a lot of things - updates have to be compiled by volunteers and tested on damn near everything.

All the testing on Mozilla's end happens before an update is released but unless you want to compile your own browser you've pretty much gotta wait for the developers, who I imagine are spending a lot of energy on Lucid right now.
    we see things not as they are, but as we are.
    -- anais nin

Comment

with Ubuntu's versioning scheme, for each release, there are no new versions of software in the standard, official repositories in a vast majority of cases. Only security and bugfix versions of existing versions will be available. But there are semi-unofficial PPA repositories that provide many of the updates of this sort - Kubuntu use them to provide us with fresh versions of KDE SC, for example

Comment

I have added Mozilla's build to my repository list. It installs both FF 3.6.2 and TB 3.0.3. They both seems to be working fine on my machine. I have Kubuntu KK (9.10) with updated KDE SC 4.4.

"http://downloads.sourceforge.net/pro...a/mozilla/apt"

Comment