This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

audio driver issue

hello all ive been using linux for a couple of years now but i am new to kde4 i recently did a fresh install of kubuntu 9.10 and after a software
    update it seems to have disabled my audio driver but for some reason i still have sound in amarok and i also have sound in a few games i play as well but no sound in flash i have enclosed a screenshot of the issue i am trying to describe

http://tinyurl.com/yzne6b4

what i would like to do is get the driver re-installed what it says when i hover over the greyed out area is "this device is currently unavailable"

ill appreciate any and all help i can get with this issue

Re: audio driver issue

UPDATE: ok this is weird i have no idea what i did but it came back now i have sound in flash ill do further checking to figure out what i did

Comment

i also encounter this. no sound n flash, vlc player.. but other applications have sounds.

that's why i return to Ubuntu

hope they can fix it.. i really love kubuntu interface ^_^

Comment

Open a console and type:
        Code:
        sudo apt-get install phonon-backend-gstreamer
        See my Multimedia Backend to Phonon - Gstreamer vs Xine
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

Hi, i'm having a problem that might be the same.

I installed kubuntu and i didn't tried to play sounds once that system was playing sound when was starting and shuting down, then i started to note the problem after installing flash player, i couldn't listen any sound from video flash...
          I tried to play some sound (mp3 files) with amarok and xmms, the amarok played ok, but xmms didn't played any sound.