This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installing tar.bz2 files

can any one tell how to install software from .tar.bz2 installation files. i have downloaded vlc-0.9.2.tar.bz2 and pidgen-2.5.8.tar.bz2 file but got no clue on how to install these softwares.
    I am using Kubuntu 9.04. and i got no clue what so ever . i am new to Linux. so please instruct me . I am using Kubuntu 9.04. and i got no clue what so ever . i am new to Linux. so please instruct me .

Re: Installing tar.bz2 files

Please do not "multi-post" the same question in multiple boards. It's considered poor "netiquete". Stick with one board. If it is not the correct place, a Forum Moderator will move it. Posting the same question in more than one board in the Forum results in disjointed responses.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

tar.bz2 is like an archive. Like a zip file... Normally, you should install stuff using apt-get... In pidgin's case it's easier. Just type "sudo apt-get install pidgin" in Konsole.
      <br />Have YOU signed the Ubuntu code of Conduct? I did it at 10 AUG, 2009!

Comment

i typed sudo apt-get pidgen in Konsole and i am getting the following:
        E: Type 'https://launchpad.net/~c-korn/+archive/vlc' is not known on line 48 insource list /etc/apt/sources.list
        E: The list of sources could not be read.

Comment

Originally posted by anup807
          i typed sudo apt-get pidgen in Konsole and i am getting the following:
          E: Type 'https://launchpad.net/~c-korn/+archive/vlc' is not known on line 48 insource list /etc/apt/sources.list
          E: The list of sources could not be read.
          type "sudo kate /etc/apt/sources.list" and remove line 48.
          <br />Have YOU signed the Ubuntu code of Conduct? I did it at 10 AUG, 2009!

Comment