X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Edgy upgrade

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the Linux system. I took over a machine for my research that uses Linux for a certain program. The machine hasn't been updated in a long time, evidence by this topic subject. When I tried to upgrade using adept and synaptic I ran into problems because the updates could not be fetched since the links for edgy (security, updates, etc) could not be accessed from the security.ubuntu.com site because they are no longer there. There were some broken packages on the system, that I removed and I was hoping to reinstall, but again, they could not be found. Could anyone help me out so that I can move forward with a newer, up-to-date version of Kubuntu (which is what I currently am running), preferably without using a clean install?

Thanks.

Re: Edgy upgrade

I'm afraid the short answer is that Edgy is no longer supported, because it was an ordinary (18 month support) release. To get from your current Edgy set up to a "modern" Hardy system you will have to (1) upgrade to Feisty, (2) upgrade to Gutsy, and (3) upgrade to Hardy. Each upgrade will (assuming that you have a fast internet connection) take at least two or three hours. The uquestionably easiest way to get from Edgy to Hardy is a fresh install. However, if you want to proceed read on.

To upgrade from one release to the NEXT, you must:
    (1) edit your /etc/apt/sources.list file changing the names of all the entries from release X to release X+1, e.g. Edgy to Feisty.
    (2)Then using either the GUI (Adept or Synaptic) or the command line (apt-get or aptitiude) reload the cache and upgrade everything. The command line is faster, but the time saving is trivial compared to the download time.
    (3) Repeat until you are up to date.