This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

System freezes...why oh why?

Yesterday I experienced 3 system freezes that made it impossible to do anything. This means I could not communicate with my system in any way and I had to do the powerbutton off thing in order to continue. I am a litlle bit disappointed, as this reminds me of the Macintosh I had whne I was a student (and to to add insult to injury, a recent OS that my PC came packed with :P) I guess something I am doing is wrong, something I have done is wrong or I am just not right....right?

My kubuntu installation was supposed to be more stable than this!

I don't have many applications on my system except for the base kubuntu install (Mozilla thunderbird, Inkscape and GIMP - that's it. There are also some libraries that allow my AmaroK to play MP3s). I am running kubuntu 5.10 on a P4 2.8 Ghz intel pentium 4, memory 2.5 Gb Ram, Point of View 6800 GT graphics card (nvidia chips), and soundcard is Creative Audigy 2 SZ or ZS or something like that.

The system freezes first happened when I had a lot of applications up. (Konqueror, Konversation, AMaroK, GIMP, INkscape). Then I rebooted and I think I got AmaroK, Konqueror and maybe Konversation up - and it happened again. Rebooted again, and this time I am only running Konqueror and (curses) system freezes for the third time.

I get the impression that what causes the system freezes is either Konqueror - related or something related with the desktop environment (ie. KDE "crashes"). I could maybe work around it by allowing ssh login (disabled atm) and learning how to kill and restart KDE from the command line? I sometimes bring a laptop home and I guess I could configure that to run some kind of ssh client which I could use to kill and restart. This would only be a time consuming work around, though..