This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

crash & burn...

So, I tried using the Adept Updater after a new install, 3 times. It crashes, then when I reboot my system, it says it's missing files and won't boot. There is a lot of updates, so installing them one at a time is going to take a very long time. It also told me there was a package update for the entire system, after the adept crashed, but it couldn't grab it because something was in use.. Help!!!!!!!!!! I know it's quicker to just reinstall on a clean system, but after 3 tries I want to find out why it's crashing....

Re: crash & burn...

Open the Konsole and do
    Code:
    sudo dpkg --configure -a
    then
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    then
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install

Comment

I'm new to Linux. Where do I run the console from? CD, or command prompt from the hard drive?

Comment

For Gutsy Installations:

Open Adept Manager (K Menu | System | Adept Manger) and click on Adept | Manage Repositories. On the first tab, check all items (you don't need the last item checked unless you intend to download source files for compiling). On the Third-Party Software tab uncheck/delete the cdrom repository entry. Close the window. If Adept doesn't automatically fetch updates, click on Fetch Updates. You will now have access to the thousands of available packages. If you still have problems, open a console and type:
        Code:
        sudo dpkg --configure -a
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
        "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

The problem I have is my system is crashed, and won't boot. I can reload the OS, again, but I kind of want to try and fix it this time.

Comment

when I type the "sudo dpkg --configure -a" into the Konsole, I get an unknown option -o. I have no clue why it's saying -o, especially when I'm typing -a.

Comment

what the heck does "sudo" mean anyway?

Comment

SuperUser DO