X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

dual booting xp and kubuntu help

Hey Everyone
    I'm new to Linux and it has been giving me some specific problems with dual booting. I have a Dell Inspiron with a 40 GB internal and a 320 GB WD External. My plan was to leave the internal drive as is, because it has very little free space (~8 GB total) and to boot Kubuntu off the external. Seemed easy enough. Unfortunately I am one of those who got tricked by Kubuntu displaying my external as (hd0) and my internal as (hd1) in the first install I and overwrote the mbr for the internal hard drive. Being totally new to Linux, it took me a long time to discover what the hell went wrong but once I did I ran Super GRUB Disc and fixed my Windows MBR. I also used the command line in GRUB to relocate and remount one of my Kubuntu partitions which I was then able to run, but only through GSD. My partitions are now all crazy from my experimenting and re-installing and I was going to merge these partitions and run the install again, making sure to keep my hds straight. But I was wondering if it is possible, and if so is it at all beneficial or easier to put a relatively small /boot partition on the internal, and then to mount separate /home, /root, /etc and so on from the external? Any time I've tried to boot of a /boot sector on my external, I get the black screen. Don't know if that's because of my crappy software configuring or a BIOS issue with my external. Would appreciate any help I can get- I'd love to get it right this time.

Re: dual booting xp and kubuntu help

I think the /boot partition on the internal drive would work. Search here in the forums, Qqmike has many posts regarding GRUB and USB drives. You are very likely to find something useful.

Mike
    http://monte48lowes.blogspot.com

Comment