This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kmail Help

Hi there! I'm a bit new to this, having just switched over from Windows. It took a bit to get a handle on this, but I think I'm starting to get an idea. Anyway, everything's running smoothly, and I've no complaints, though I'm still getting some quirks with kmail. When I open up Kontact, and go to Kmail, it logs into my gmail account, it connects and authenticates correctly, and I can get new mail. However, whenever I try to check the archived email, I get this error:

Error while querying the server status.
    Unable to open folder [Gmail]. The server replied: Unknown Mailbox: [Gmail] (now in authenticated state) (Failure)

Also, I'm unsure as to how to set Firefox to be the default browser for Kmail and other applications. I've tried "sudo update-alternatives list --x-www-browser" but that doesn't seem to work. Am I doing it wrong or so?

Re: Kmail Help

this might help..
    make sure that your imap on gmail is active
    you can do this by going into your gmail account and setting it under settings
    Kubuntu 8.04 <br />Dual-Boot w/ XP<br />Intel Core 2 Duo E6500<br />nVidia 8400GS 256mb<br />2GB DDR2<br />Ubuntu User #21847<br />Linux User #467409

Comment

It is. Before this, I set up Imap Gmail for Thunderbird on XP

Comment

Have you updated to KDE 3.5.9? I was not able to use IMAP with kmail using KDE 3.5.8. This should be fixed in the new update. http://techbase.kde.org/Projects/PIM/Features_3.5.9. You have to add the 3.5.9 repository to apt. Instructions here: http://kubuntu.org/announcements/kde-359.php

Let us know if this fixes the issue. I haven't updated since I don't use google on a regular basis.

Mike
        http://monte48lowes.blogspot.com

Comment

How did you set kmail up to access your gmail account?

Did you try and set up gmail for pop access instead of imap?
          HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
          4 GB Ram
          Kubuntu 18.10

Comment