Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Desktop Linux - thoughts from a newbie...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Desktop Linux - thoughts from a newbie...

Hi All,

As a Linux newbie I find that (as I've heard mentioned many times before) the large number of choices of apps/utils is one of (desktop) Linux's biggest benefits, but also its biggest drawback, in terms of a consolidated approach to a single/common desktop environment.

I guess it's the roots (no pun intended!) of Linux itself, but from a desktop user's point of view, I only want ONE installer and don't want to have to fart around with consoles/CLIs just to get things done.

The OS should be tucked away in the background and the only bit that should be visible to me is the UI. It's there to run apps on top of, not to give me grey hair and an ulcer ;-)

I guess it'll get there one day (perhaps in the "Pissed-off Parrot" release of Kubuntu :-)

How do other newbies find it, in terms of app installs (my biggest gripe ATM) setting up hardware, etc...

Cheers,

Mike.

Re: Desktop Linux - thoughts from a newbie...

It is what it is. Which is why most of us are here.
    Fact is, after setting it up, 7.10 is working the best ever, and sure as hell beats XP (which I also use, but the ratios have flipped from 50-50 to 90-10 in favor of Kubuntu 7.10)

In Windows, either you can't fix things, or it's very difficult to do so as an average user.
    In Kubuntu, at least you can fix things and easily tweak things, down to compiling your own kernel if you so wish.

You might check out another distro—a very popular one—perhaps “The” Aunt Minnie distro, Xandros. Basically, pay, receive, install-and-go:

http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=xandros
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment