This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

U will go mad wen u get this problem!!

i login by entering password succesfully at the start of loading of os. .

But wen i try to enter password in the terminal(especially wen doin sudo commands) it doesnt get entered(the cursor doestnt move).

wen o type password in the terminal nothing gets displayed(i mean cursor remain there itself without accepting the password).i typed the password(i coudnt see it) and pressed enter . it says wrong password.

so i thought there was some problem and changed the password ...still i am facing same problem and also i reinstalled kubuntu(as i am a newbie).....still i am facing similar problem...............................plzz help friends...

Re: U will go mad wen u get this problem!!

try using su instead of sudo.

the password will not display when you type...will not even show ***** like other places you enter a password...this is a security feature so someone looking over your shoulder wouldn't be able to tell the number of characters in your password.

edit: use of su above is not correct - sorry

Comment

To change your password, you have to use the "passwd" command. If you did not use that command, then you did not change your password.

As almax00 says, you will not see anything on the screen when you enter a password in the terminal. But it is recorded by the system, so when you press "Enter" it is accepted (if you entered your password correctly).

Also, remember that Linux is case-sensitive. You must enter your password EXACTLY as you first created it.

Comment

One more thing - keyboard layout! Check it first, before entering password - I found a strange bug in ubuntu, where part of the keyboard (about 1-2 keys) cannot change away from slovak, while the rest of the keyboard switches between english-slovak correctly.