This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Total newbie with Linux :( Need help

Hey fellas...I hope someone can help me.

-I switched to Linux on my home computer. I installed Kubuntu 7.4 It found everything right, with exeption of fan control on my Sony Vaio desktop. It's little frustrating because every instruction I found on how to make this stupid fan from running constantly was very complicated for someone who came from Windows world.

Anways,before I went with install of Linux, I backed everything up from my Windows install to external Maxtor USB hard drive. That drive is in NTFS format. I have absolutely everything on it and would like to move it to my local hard drive. I ran into some problems.

First, I finally figured out how to "mount" the thing. BTW, why doesn't linux do it automatically?

But now, I have a problem with accessing it...when I double click on the icon that was put on my desktop, I get an error:

Unable to enter file:///media/sdc1. You do not have access right to this location.

Ok fine, so I guess I need to give my user name access...when I look at the properties of the drive I see permissions:

Owner is: root
    Owner can view content
    Group is Forbidden
    Others are Forbidden

Now, I assume I would have to give ME a permissions to this drive via root. The problem is, I don't know how I thought if I logon to my dektop as root, I could do it, but it tells me that "ROot login is not allowed" WHY? Why am I so locked out of this thing? I understand that it's so I don't mess anything up, but don't let me logon? I don't get it....

I am frustrated... I really would like to keep Linux and learn it.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks in advance!

Re: Total newbie with Linux Need help

Oh, so I tried to follow some instructions from here, and I tried to mount this HD with some additional commands, now when I open up my Konquerer, I see drive in there with name:

uid=1000,gid=1000