This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where's my stuff?

Can someone tell me what file is the equivalent of Program files in Windows? I've installed a bunch of stuff which does not show up in my start menu. Thanks in advance.

Re: Where's my stuff?

I'm new to linux myself, but I'd say user programs - at least their executables (binary/scripts/symlinks) are in /usr/bin. Just type the name in console (doesn't matter which directory you're in).What exactly are you looking for? Most user apps create desktop/Kmenu launchers, those that don't, however, are quite troublesome.
    Migration status:<br />[DONE]Get GeForce2 MX200 working with 96xx drivers, get automount external ntfs volumes, fix resume from suspend<br />[pending]:find good BSPlayer replacement<br />If you know how to fix any of the pending problems, PM!

Comment

It's hard to look at Linux from a Windows-centric perspective and make much sense of it, I'm afraid -- it's VERY different.

:P

On the lower left is the "KMenu" button -- that's the analogue to "Start". Up the list that you see when you click it are logical groupings of functions and applications. "Graphics" for graphics stuff, "Internet" for Internet stuff, "System" for ..... well, I think you get that.

Under "System" is the Adept Manager, which you will use to choose new "packages" (that's Debian-speak for "apps").

When a package is installed, usually it plants an icon in the appropriate group above Kmenu. If it happens not to (and occasionally one won't), you can do Alt-F2 and get a little one-line command line, and launch it by typing its name there.

Looking for your executables, like you did with your C:\Program Files\Foo_123 is not really a useful thing to do with your Kubuntu system -- you aren't going to be able to do what you're thinking of, and you might mess it up good if you try, before you've got a handle on the "permissions" thing.