This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"with source" and "compiling the kernel sources"

okay, so my goal is to install the latest verison of ndiswrapper. I went to the wiki for instructions on installing. I'm new to linux, but am advanced in regards to computing--so bear with me when it comes to understanding certain things.

This is the link/how-to I'm working with:

http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/m...p/Installation

I understand the bulk of the directions given. They're layed out fairly well. What isn't explained very well is actually the first section: Prerequisites.

The first line mentions I need the source for my kernel. I tried installing the source from Adept. However, what I tried didn't seem to work. Can anyone spell this process out for me a bit? I notice there is source for a number of versions. Is there a quick console command to check my version?

my only other hangup is the line:
    "Make sure you have started compiling the kernel sources, so needed header files are present"

I'm not sure how to compile the kernel sources. It sounds complex. I also see that the header files are available in Adept. I don't know if I need to install those as well or if that is included in the source.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Re: "with source" and "compiling the kernel sources"

The latest Ubuntu patched kernel source package is 'linux-source-2.6.12'
    You can use 'uname -r' to get your current kernel version (if you need matching kernel-headers)

If you need to learn about compiling, there are good kernel compiling howtos available.
    Search 'kernel compile howto', for example

Comment

I should have mentioned that I have 64-bit Breezy installed...

in addition, I've read that the 64-bit version is more buggy than the 32-bit. If I'm not concerned with 64-bit support, should I just be using the 32-bit version?

Comment

alright, I'm trying to work through this...

BTW, I switched to 32bit-- 5.10 for good measure.