X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

security

hey there
    im new to linux and tried several distro's.
    i noticed in fc4 there was a firewall,but i didnt like fc4 so i tried some more distro's,and found kubuntu .
    i really like this and i want to really make the Big step , but i have a few question's
    is it really true that there are nearly no viruses and ad spyware for linux?
    is a firewall neccesery and antivirus?
    is this distro safe, and how can i improve this ?
    i know these are quite a few question but iv google'd and found so much info some understandble and some the opposite, so im kinda confused :S

so if u guys have any good tip's and hint's im happy to listen and trie them

Thanks in advance

Re: security

General security:
    the default installation is in itself very secure...there are no servers open to the internet, there's a configured firewall running...and in kubuntu the 'root' account is disabled by default, which adds some protection as well.

This doesn't mean you can ignore security/safety issues completely, as it's possible to open up your computer to threats, for example if you install and run a poorly configured ssh server for remote logins.

A few things you should keep in mind (even in Linux):
    1. Use only strong passwords and keep them safe
    2. Only install software from trusted sources
    3. Only run public servers if you really need them, and if you do, make them as safe as you can (for example, allow connections only from a single address or selected range of addresses, use key-based authentication if possible etc.)
    4. Get into a habit of regular backups (also for hardware failures)

Firewall: