This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ISPs that support Kubuntu?

Hi,a noob question here.How do I find out which ISPs support Kubuntu?If I find one that says they handle Linspire,will they handle Kubuntu?For a total noob to Linux,finding this kind of info is important.Is there a list somewhere of ISPs that cover different distros?TIA

Re: ISPs that support Kubuntu?

I'm not sure exactly what you mean by "handle."

I use Earthlkink DSL with no problems -- my connection was instantly and automatically detected by Kubuntu, by Freespire, and by MEPIS, and it works great without any problems whatsoever.

(Note: Earthlink offers a Protection Control Center (firewall, virus scanner, pop-up blockers, scam blocker, etc.), and it only works with Windows. But that's not a problem, though. Linux is different that way. Any "protection" you might need in Linux is provided by various Linux programs that you will easily learn about.)

Maybe you could clarify what you need or are looking for.

Here's Earthlink DSL, and you'll find most/all DSL's here (see the site map or Home tabs).
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/earthlink
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

There should be no reason for an ISP to support one OS or another. The only thing that would be different would be the software they offer as mentioned in the above post. For the most part Linux does not need most of this software that windows is dependent on. You provider may tell you they don't support Linux but there is a real good chance that there servers are running one form of *nix or another. Only the customer service reps are trained to tell people how to connect using MS.
      ~$sudo make me a sandwich

Comment

I have DSL through SBC-Yahoo and when I switched to linux last year
        all I did was install and march on. The router does not care what your running.