This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't start firefox

I'm very new at this, I just installed kubuntu today, and everything was working fine until I decided I wanted to use firefox.

So I downloaded firefox from the website, untared it, but nothing seem to happen if I try to open "firefox". If I type
    Code:
    sudo ./firefox
    at the console, I get an error saying:
    ./firefox-bin: error while loading shared libraries: libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    I tried finding this library, or getting from somewhere online, but was unsuccessful.
    What should I do?

Re: Can't start firefox

Untarring doesn't install.

Firefox is an available package that can be requested for installation using the Adept Manager (K Menu > System > Adept Manager Manage Packages)

In the searchbox type firefox. Right-click on the package name and click the Request Install button.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

G'day, kanima,

This link will give you some information about installing software. There are also other useful tips on the side to look at as well.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installingsoftware

Hope this is some help to you
      Enjoy
      I wish I was the man my dog thinks I am.<br /><br />Registered Linux User No. 402825

Comment

The words sudo and firefox should never be next to each other.

This link will help you get on the right track:
        http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/firefox
        Linux is ready for the desktop--but whose desktop?<br />How to install software in Kubuntu

Comment

Actually, I had found those two links and tried doing what they said, but it didn't work, so I'd assumed I was doing it all wrong (which is why I posted here).

However, I followed the instructions again and it still didn't work.
          sudo aptitude install firefox gives me: