X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how to install xfce

Hello,

I am using a very old computer ( 700 Mhz, 128 Ram, 40 Gb HD ) and just installed Kubuntu from the live cd.
    It installed and works perfectly well except that it runs a little slow. I am planning on installing xFCE instead which I know will work fine but here's the trouble :

I do not have an internet connection.
    I would really LOVE if I did not have to install from scratch using the server method ( I usually download files here at work and then take them home in my usb pen or burn them in a cd and try to execute them there ). I would really appreciate help on this, I am a newbie in kubuntu. Thanks a lot.

Re: how to install xfce

I'd use "apt-get install -d xfce4" on your work computer to get packages you need for a basic xfce install. The -d option downloads files without installing them. You can then copy the *.deb files to a memory stick, and use that to install a basic xfce system at home. I have no idea how large the xfce4 packages are, so you may need to burn a CD.

Comment

Use this add-on CD.
      Linux is ready for the desktop--but whose desktop?<br />How to install software in Kubuntu

Comment

broken link

I have downloaded the xfce4 and I think I can install it using the following steps :

Downloaded : xfce4-4.2.1.1-installer.bin

$ chmod +x xfce4-4.2.1.1-installer.bin
        $ xhost +localhost
        $ su
        # ./xfce4-4.2.1.1-installer.bin

I tried this in my work computer which only has Ubuntu and it says that libgtk2.0-dev is missing, I am not interested in fixing this since I don't use that pc, I only play around with it.

I am going to try this in my home computer with no internet and hopefully I do have libgtk2.0-dev installed or available for installing.

Comment

Don't know why that link isn't working.
          Maybe the bottom of this page?
          https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UnofficialUbuntu510AddOnCD