Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[Plasma 5.5] How get image preview in file manager?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Plasma 5.5] How get image preview in file manager?

I know in Dolphin we can click preview to show a snapshot of the image in file manager. But how to make it a default option (for image files), so that I don't have to click "preview" everytime?
    Furthermore, if I am using FIrefox browser and uploading files from my computer, it uses a file manager which is unknown to me and it doesn't show any preview, which make it totally unusable. Please see the screenshot. I know there must be a way to have image preview in this situation, but just don't know where to start. Could anyone help?

Update: I noticed that in some of the websites, it does start a file manager with preview, but some just don't. Like the one in the screenshot.

I'm new to Kubuntu, sorry if I am asking silly questions.

In Dolphin, open "Configure Dolphin", in the side bar click "General", then click the preview tab and select the file types you want to preview
    Last edited by GerardV; Jul 19, 2016, 01:47 AM.
    sigpic

Comment

Thanks for the suggestion. However, although it sound ridiculous, but I just could not find the Dolphin setting options you mentioned above. I also googled to get an idea how the setting menu should look like. But no, it seems that I just don't have this options in my Dolphin. The only setting-related options I could find are Kwin and some special application settings. I also pressed alt+space to fire up KRunner and search for Dolphin setting. No result.
      I am running Kubuntu 16.04. I have made no special changes to the system after a clean install.
      Any suggestions? Many thanks!

Comment

Not sure where your dolphin menu is but what you're looking for is in dolphin under Settings --> Configure Dolphin.