X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[SOLVED] How to get pure KDE desktop in Kubuntu

Hi,

I notice when I install Kubuntu 14.04, there are a number of applications that are not part of KDE. The two big ones are Firefox and LibreOffice. I'm not sure what else is installed that is not KDE. I am new to KDE and want to get familiar with the tools that it provides.

So, my question is simple: Is there a way to get a pure KDE environment in Kubuntu?

Thanks,

I tried that once. It was very difficult and in the end made some thing near impossible to do. For a web browser, you can try Rekonq. Its decent, but lacks a lot of features that other browsers have and doesnt have the plugins that Chromium or Firefox have. You can try replacing Libreoffice with Calligra. The main problem with Calligra is that you can't save things in Microsoft formats. So if you need to submit a work project or school assignment in .doc format, you're out of luck.

If you just want a simple system and don't have to do anything special on it, you can probably get away with a more-or-less pure KDE install. But if you want to do more, pure KDE is impossible. Here are some non-KDE programs that dont have an adequate KDE alternative and that I cant live without:
    -VLC - Dragon player is ok, but has issues playing something and sometimes wont play subtitiles. VLC plays everything you throw at it.
    -Inkscape - if you want to do vector graphics on Linux, Inkscape is the only way to go.
    -Wine - the only program available for opening Windows programs
    -Steam - not KDE
    -Audacity - havent found a better Linux audio editor

It would be nice to have a pure KDE environment, but functionality is far more important.

Comment

Pure KDE in Kubuntu

Originally posted by whatthefunk View Post