X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kubuntu 8.10 BACKUP NIGHTMARE!

Hi Everyone,

First of all I'd like to say that I am very grateful at all the fine work the KUBUNTU community is doing and virtually racing against the clock.
    However, I am not a linux GURU nor that I am a Linux newbie either.
    I have been using KUBUNTU through the thick and thin but with Ver 8.10, I tried to do a simple backup using Simple Backup all my /home user folders as well as /var /usr/ etc/
    All I simply wanted to do is backup to my USB external HDD using Simple Backup, which went 100% successfully.

Then I simply unplugged the external drive and installed exactly the same system KUBUNTU 8.10 on a brand new drive, I re-installed KUBUNTU 8.10 on exactly the same hardware, installed Simple Backup, then did a RESTORE.
    The restore process also went without a hitch, however! on reboot. KUBUNTU DIED!
    I then re-installed KUBUNU 8.10 on the new hard drive once again, it did it's routine and at the end of the install it said to remove the K CD and re-boot.
    It re-booted fine this time but I had no mouse and no keyboard to log in.
    I am not going to go into all the c**P regards to this but I feel that if KUBUNTU is going to except certain apps, they should themselves test them before they give them the approval.
    I found Simple BACKUP to be SIMPLE not working.

Simple Backup is all that it says, in-other-words simply just copy your home folder and paste it to wherever, then copy, paste to the new system. I've been doing this for years.

My question is this! if anybody decides to create a backup app! please do so but bear in mind at the task that's involved within the Linux OS, you need to make it SMART! you need to make the BACKUP system recognise what is and what is not!, what can and what can't! where and when.

So far over the years of using Linux, I have not seen one backup app that's smart enough to do just that.