This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please someone help me...

Well it wou;d be nice if someone could help me. I am new with Kubuntu (Linux at all) After some begining problems isnatlatio was OK. Then wanted to installl aditional packages and then the problems started. I will atach pictures because pictures shows all. Now I can not install anything anymore. Several aplications are lost etc... How can I repair that so that I can install packages again. Thanks in advance
    Attached Files

Re: Please someone help me...

Close all open programs, open the Konsole, and enter this:

Code:
    sudo dpkg --configure -a
    then this

Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    then

Code:
    sudo apt-get install
    then

Code:
    sudo apt-get autoclean
    and you should be back in business.

Comment

Thanks very much. But for expmple now is the list of available packages much less. For example now I can not start or install VLC player. It shows that it is installing but it does not work at all. Do you have some ideas. And Do you have any idea for my web camera Genius VideoCAM Eye. It does not work. Thanks again.

Comment

When posting in a sub-section of the Forum that doesn't identify your version of *ubuntu you are using, it is helpful for you to identify that for us. So, did you install Gutsy?? Assuming that you did, and assuming that you now have access to Adept Manager (K Menu | System | Adept Manager), then after opening the program, click on Adept | Manage Repositories and on the first tab, click all the items (you don't need to click the last item unless you intend to download source files for compiling). On the Third-Party Software tab uncheck/delete the cdrom repository. Close the window. If Adept Manager doesn't automatically fetch updates, then click on Fetch Updates. You will now see that you have access to the thousands of available packages.
        Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007