Files will not open

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Files will not open

I've been working with Writer for at least 15 years. Today I have a brand new problem: some of my files created with Writer will not open. I have written a 40-chapter book. A few of the chapter files have opened, but most of them will not open. I look at the file's properties, and the permissions data say that I have read and write permissions, but the file won't open. Several files won't open; so it's not just one file. I'm running Ubuntu 22.04. I have gotten no message re a potential source of the problem. I've rebooted several times; that does not help. This problem just began today. Have you any thoughts as to what the problem may be?

Do any backups for your book open?
    Do any other unrelated files open?

What version of Libreoffice are you using?

Maybe try running Writer from the terminal, then trying to open a file:
    Code:
    libreoffice --writer
    You will see a lot of 'garbage' that may look like errors, but see what it shows when you open that file.

You could also try other applications to see if the files open there, such as KDE's own Calligra., Only Office, WPS Office, or even Google Docs.

We are trying to see if the file is corrupt, or if it is something on the software side.

Comment

You may get some information if you open the files from the CLI. Open a konsole, and run
      Code:
      cd <location of file>
      soffice <filename>
      I once had a problem a little like this and solved it using an AppImage of an older version. See https://www.libreoffice.org/download/appimage/.
      Regards, John Little

Comment